MechVM 2020-03-05

MechVM - A MechWarrior 2 remake.

Moderator: Skyfaller

Post Reply
User avatar
Skyfaller
Clan 1st MechWarrior
Clan 1st MechWarrior
Posts: 1013
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by Skyfaller »

Hi all,

I just uploaded a new version of MechVM. Highlights are:
  • SMK video+audio playback thanks to http://libsmacker.sourceforge.net/
  • MechVM shows cutscenes and hints
  • Fixed a bug that may cause installations to fail if another edition of MW2 was installed before without restarting MechVM
  • DosBox update
  • NetMech Plugin repaired
  • Summoner now imported
  • Mercs: missions selected by date, contracts can be selected
Download MechVM

Enjoy!

User avatar
navbuoy
House Steiner Sergeant
House Steiner Sergeant
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:39 am

Re: MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by navbuoy »

Awesome - can't wait to try it out :)

dm5k
I.S. Baby
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:12 am

Re: MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by dm5k »

When I install Mechwarrior 2 31st Century Combat my mouse does not work properly at all. When I move my mouse left the mechs torso will move left but then begins moving right, left, right, left, etc. When I move my mouse right the mechs torso will move right but then begins moving left, right, left, right, etc. It's like the torso does not know where to move. Moving up or down isn't as bad. But when I move the torso down for example the torso will move most of the way down but then shift up. I don't have this issue with MW2 Mercs or Ghost Bear's Legacy. Is there something I need to change for mouse controls to work properly?

The errors MechVM tells me after I install the game...

no joystick found
could not find F: \german.lrm
BET1MAP1.BWD not found - connot build texture table.

User avatar
Skyfaller
Clan 1st MechWarrior
Clan 1st MechWarrior
Posts: 1013
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by Skyfaller »

Please follow this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUkbJMww3PM

dm5k
I.S. Baby
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:12 am

Re: MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by dm5k »

Skyfaller wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 11:25 pm
Please follow this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUkbJMww3PM
I don't know how but I tried installing the game again and this time without any mouse issues!

Can you tell me how to change the game to fit the screen? The game plays in a 1078x768 window with everything else black. I have also tried following these instructions for widescreen but it doesn't work either. https://www.reddit.com/r/mechwarrior/co ... mod_msdos/

I have tried changing my display from 4k to 1280x768 and it still plays in a window.

User avatar
Skyfaller
Clan 1st MechWarrior
Clan 1st MechWarrior
Posts: 1013
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 2:58 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by Skyfaller »

Please post a screenshot so that I know what you're writing about.

Corvuscorax
I.S. Baby
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 12:25 am

Re: MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by Corvuscorax »

Hi guys,

I'm the author of the Mechwarrior 2 Widescreen mod, it's a derivative of the previous work done by Mech2 forum users in altering the resolution settings in all 3 Mechwarrior 2 games: viewtopic.php?t=213

The purpose of my work was to really stress test the game and see how far the engine could go under various MS-DOS VESA settings. 1280x768 was the absolute highest resolution I could take it before but it came with a degree of screen distortion from having the image stretch outward beyond it's default 4:3 aspect ratio.

Mod listing is found at the Moddb website, along with the installation tutorial video too. The link is at the end of this post. You need a copy of D-fend Reloaded for it to work properly as the game will only render in "widescreen" under software mode. D-fend's customization options with DosBox allows for a unique way of cropping out the top and bottom parts of the screen with the Surface renderer. As mentioned in the earlier Mech2 post, MW2 only renders at a maximum height of 768 pixels. It has no trouble rendering at 1280 pixels wide. The highest VESA mode for MW2 is mode 263 (0107h) which is 1280x1024 @ 256 colors. 1024 minus 256 is 768 pixels high. Ergo, the 1280x768 "widescreen" mode in MW2 is the highest it can go. (it can theoretically go higher as 1600x1200 was the highest MS-DOS VESA resolution)

To get the full effect of the mod, you must run it in fullscreen only. Also, the settings in D-fend must be at around 1366x768 for fullscreen output so there is no further stretch distortion to the image. 1280x768 is really 15:9 aspect ratio. 1366x768 is a true 16:9 aspect ratio. In the screenshot links below, notice the black bars at the side to retain the aspect ratio of the 1280x768 image. The image blur is due to DosBox rendering 1366x768 and expanding it on a 1920x1080 monitor. I notice with my monitor too that it switches to 1440x900 mode.

https://media.moddb.com/images/mods/1/4 ... D23Bpj.jpg
https://media.moddb.com/images/mods/1/4 ... bWgV.1.jpg

Running the game in windowed mode will only show the 1280x256 black bar at the bottom while displaying the top area at 1280x768. This is only cropped out in fullscreen once set to the 'Surface' renderer. DirectX and OpenGL will not work.

https://media.moddb.com/images/mods/1/4 ... 7sgc21.jpg

Please note that this mod will only work with the DOS version of the game and as per prior tests in the past, has never worked with MechVM... that is unless Skyfaller finds a way to implement it sometime in the future and use the same tricks D-fend/DosBox does for it.

https://www.moddb.com/mods/widescreen-mod

Enjoy! :)

myne
I.S. Baby
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 30, 2020 9:15 pm

Re: MechVM 2020-03-05

Post by myne »

Hi there,

Is there something mechvm depends on that I don't have? Some C library or something?
No matter what I do, I get "Process ended with code 3221226356"

I've tried 21c, gbl, mercs, titanium mercs.
No dice.

Here's a complete log from fresh unzip to fail.
MechVM Mar 5 2020
This is the message window for MechVM. If you close it, MechVM terminates.
No joysticks found
GL Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
GL Renderer: Radeon RX 580 Series
GL Version: 4.6.13587 Compatibility Profile Context 20.4.2 26.20.15029.27016
Nothing to install found in E:\
Nothing to install found in F:\
Nothing to install found in I:\
Analyzing CD

Installing MW2: Mercenaries (Titanium)
Installing MW2: Mercenaries (Titanium Trilogy)
Patch: writing C:\games\MechVM-win32-2020-03-05\games\mw2-mercs-tt\MW2shell.dll failed
Patch: writing C:\games\MechVM-win32-2020-03-05\games\mw2-mercs-tt\MercsW.dll failed
Installation successful, now importing mechs
Importing from MW2 installation
Analyzing BET1MAP1.BWD
BET1MAP1.BWD contains 180 BMID tags, 0 INCL tags, 0 PALG tags
Loading PLATEC5.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SSMETSUC.TEX
Format: 0
Loading PLATEC3.TEX
Format: 0
Loading PLATEC1.TEX
Format: 0
Loading PLATEC4.TEX
Format: 0
Loading PLATEC6.TEX
Format: 0
Loading PLATEC2.TEX
Format: 0
Loading MCC1CLOU.TEX
Format: 3
Loading SWEPGH1.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Annihilator
Imported Assassin
Loading SSVERTC.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SRVERTC.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SWEPMP8C.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Atlas
Imported Awesome
Loading SLPLAINC.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SSMESH.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SWEPMP2C.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Battle Hawk
Imported Stone Rhino
Loading SWEPGH2.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Bombardier
Loading SWEPMP5C.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SWEPMP4C.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SLHORIC.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Catapult
Loading SLMETSPC.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Cauldron Born
Imported Centurion
Loading SWEPGH5.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Cicada
Imported Clint
Imported Commando
Loading SLVENTC.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SLMESH.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Crab
Imported Cyclops
Loading SWEPMP3C.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Dire Wolf
Imported Dragon
Cannot import DRA01STD.MEK of DRG-1N Dragon
Imported Executioner
Imported Firemoth
Imported Flashman
Imported Gargoyle
Imported Grim_Reaper
Loading SWEPMP7C.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SLIGHT.TEX
Format: 0
Loading SWEPGH4.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Grizzly
Imported Hatamoto Chi
Loading SWEPGH3.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Hellbringer
Imported Highlander
Imported Hornet
Cannot import HNT00STD.MEK of HNT-151 Hornet
Cannot import HNT01STD.MEK of HNT-171 Hornet
Imported Hunchback
Imported Jagermech
Imported Javelin
Imported Jenner IIC
Imported Kit Fox
Loading SWEPMP6C.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Kodiak
Imported Linebacker
Loading SSVENTC.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Mad Dog
Imported Mauler
Imported Mongoose
Loading SWEPMP9C.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Naga
Imported Nova
Imported Orion
Imported Panther
Imported Phantom
Imported Quickdraw
Imported Rakshasa
Imported Raven
Imported Salamander
Imported Sentinel
Imported Stalker
Imported Stormcrow
Loading SWEPMP1C.TEX
Format: 0
Imported Summoner
Imported Thug
Imported Timber Wolf
Imported Trebuchet
Imported Urbanmech
Imported Victor
Imported Vindicator
Imported Warhawk
Imported Whitworth
Imported Wolf Trap
Imported Zeus
Installation complete, 60 mechs imported
Process ended with code 3221226356
The only thing that stands out to me is this:
Patch: writing C:\games\MechVM-win32-2020-03-05\games\mw2-mercs-tt\MW2shell.dll failed
Patch: writing C:\games\MechVM-win32-2020-03-05\games\mw2-mercs-tt\MercsW.dll failed

Ideas?

Post Reply