Page 3 of 5

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 6:09 am
by navbuoy
...Luckily DOSBox has a built IPX emulation mode, which is another reason why DOSBox is so awesome.

====
[ipx]
ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=true
=====
if ipx=false, change that variable to "true" and save the settings.
====
[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.
#
IPXNET CONNECT mech2.org 10001
This was off another site and I tried it on my dosbox with the following code

Code: Select all

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=true

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.

mount d C:\Users\BOSS\Desktop\MW2app~1\MechVM\MechVM\MechVM\games
imgmount e d:\mw2.iso -t cdrom -fs iso
IPXNET CONNECT mech2.org 10001
And I received the following line in the Command prompt (DOS window)

IPX Tunneling Client connected to server at mech2.org

So that worked for me and was able to establish a connection.

So make the needed changes and see if you can get the following message - want to be sure you are able to connect to the site first.
Then if the IPX connection is working then all you have to do is launch the mercnet. Go to your Drive - Type it in manually Mercnet and see if it launches. If it does then add it to your autoexec and you should be good.

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:05 am
by Trigger
I do get the message, but I cant see any servers up, is there supposed to be? And no I can't launch single player mercs in dos because it cant find the cd. Am I supposed to install it through dos or mechVM?

I've actually been installing it from the dos\install file. I might try just the setup file in original folder. And trying the .iso idea. Turns out the dos\install is the only way to go. I appreciate your help very much by the way.

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:10 am
by navbuoy
It is best to install it in DosBox since even I had problems in MechVM.
If it will not install in DosBox THEN it must be the image itself. Convert it over into ISO format (or to be safe make a fresh ISO image off your CD) and run with that.

Once you have it in ISO it is so much easier all around. You need to get Mercs launching properly first before trying to use the Netmech features.

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:20 am
by Trigger
reinstalled with the iso format and that still wont detect the image. there must be something wrong with something ive done somewhere along the way.

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
mount D C:\MECHVM\games\mercsdos
imgmount G c:\Virtual_Images\mercsiso.iso -t iso
D:
IPXNET CONNECT mech2.org 10001

in dosbox i then type G:
G:\dos\install

#it then installs the game and after says 'type mercs to play mercenaries' or something like that, I then type 'Mercs' and unable to detect cdrom

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:34 am
by navbuoy
That is weird since if you installed off the image in DosBox then the CD image is certainly being detected. Now did you do it using DosBox or did you do it manually?

If you did it in DosBox it should have looked something like this...

Code: Select all

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

mount C C:\MERCNET\
imgmount D C:\Virtual_Images\MERCENARIES.iso -t cdrom -fs iso
D:
install

Please install using DosBox and see if that works.

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:38 am
by Trigger
should you be mounting it to C: though?

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:40 am
by navbuoy
No - because C is your hard drive you are installing it to and the D: is your actual CD ROM you are installing the program from.

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:41 am
by Trigger
then could the problem be I am using the D: too? maybe if i change that to F: or something?

changed it to H:\ still not working. Must have to hold my tongue the right way. Oh well. I appreciate the help.

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:51 am
by navbuoy
Well again it is not good practice to use the same drive letters that your actual drives are assigned to.

Code: Select all

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

mount X C:\MERCNET
imgmount Y C:\Virtual_Images\MERCENARIES.iso -t cdrom -fs iso
Y:
install

Chances are this is as safe as you can get...LOL.

Now, your destination folder that the game is being installed to (in your virtual hard drive) which is literally in C:\Mercnet and it has been assigned the letter X.
and your CD ROM which is in fact the ISO image elsewhere on your hard drive in folder C:\Virtual_Images has been assigned the letter Y.

So at the end of the day, DosBox from its perspective sees its hard drive as X and its CD ROM drive as Y.

Well, there must be an issue with your image then? It might be better to mount the actual CD ROM

Code: Select all

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

mount X C:\MERCNET
mount Y [whatever the actual drive letter of your CD/DVD ROM is on your computer]:\ -t cdrom
Y:
install

Re: mercnet problems

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:59 am
by Trigger
It took me a long time to understand that haha. This has been doing my head in like you wouldn't imagine but I persist because this was probably my favourite game of all time :)

For some reason when its time to fire up the game its not looking at the right spot for the disc. Or its looking for the wrong type of disc. What program did you use to create your .iso file? I used PowerISO. Just dragged all the files in then saved it in .iso format. Is that correct?