MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Issues with mercs? Post it up here!
Forum rules
Please provide the following when making a support request.
1. OS & Service Pack.
2. Version of Mercenaries that is being used.
3. If you are using 95 Mercs, please provide what method you are using to run it? (ie. Kontza's or Slugs Hook)
4a. If you are using DOS have you read the install guide?
4b. If you are using 95 have you watched the 95 install video?
5. What were the steps that you did after the initial installation? (if applicable)
TalkPolite
I.S. Baby
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 4:33 pm

MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby TalkPolite » Sat Jul 15, 2017 4:38 pm

Hello all,

So I was able to get MW2 working through MechVM, and tried the same method to get MW2:Mercs running. Through Mech VM the game will start and I can do everything but launch a mission. An error comes up (mercswin.exe has stopped working). How can I fix this? Also, I am trying to run MW2:Mercs on windows 10 and am trying to run the Titanium pack.

Thanks!

Talk

User avatar
navbuoy
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:39 am

Re: MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby navbuoy » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:35 pm

It's not going to be that easy using Win10 via MechVM.
At the end of the day, running a DOS version of the game using DosBox might be the best way to go. I think the 95 version of the game had both options but I think Titanium is strictly Windows 95/98/ME
Some people run VM software as well to run their older games on the Win10 machines...Virtual PC might help if all you have access to is the Titanium version.

TalkPolite
I.S. Baby
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 4:33 pm

Re: MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby TalkPolite » Sat Jul 15, 2017 7:54 pm

I also have access to the battlekit one if that helps

User avatar
navbuoy
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:39 am

Re: MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby navbuoy » Sat Jul 15, 2017 8:11 pm

I was looking up the issue and without tackling the differences in graphics handling that changed between the windows...sometimes just grabbing another DLL makes the difference for some of these games but I haven't seen anyone getting it to work in MechVM yet. Could be wrong.
It boils down to other forms of emulation - either DOS (dosbox) or OS VirtualPC or VMWare or something similar for Win95 environment.

TalkPolite
I.S. Baby
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 4:33 pm

Re: MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby TalkPolite » Sun Jul 16, 2017 5:00 pm

Sounds like I need to find myself a DosBox version of MW2: Mercs and a guide for how to use dosbox with it! (never used Dosbox).

User avatar
navbuoy
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:39 am

Re: MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby navbuoy » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:42 am

I believe the MechWM comes with a version of DosBox? Just need to set it up and choose the DOS version settings and you should be ok.

slickrcbd
I.S. Baby
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:57 pm

Re: MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby slickrcbd » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:28 pm

navbuoy wrote:It's not going to be that easy using Win10 via MechVM.
At the end of the day, running a DOS version of the game using DosBox might be the best way to go. I think the 95 version of the game had both options but I think Titanium is strictly Windows 95/98/ME
Some people run VM software as well to run their older games on the Win10 machines...Virtual PC might help if all you have access to is the Titanium version.

I wouldn't try VirtualPC.
I haven't actually tried the Windows 7 or later version for gaming, but Virtual PC 2007 does NOT work well with games. The graphics handling is kinda primitive with Virtual PC 2003 and 2007. DirectX and/or DirectDraw is not supported (can't recall) along with a bunch of other advanced graphics features.

VMWare or Virtual Box are better.

I could be outdated, they might have fixed the issue for XP-Mode.

User avatar
navbuoy
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
House Steiner Seinior Corporal
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:39 am

Re: MW2: Mercs works until I try to launch a mission

Postby navbuoy » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:24 pm

I believe there was some stating they had success running the Titanium version on Win10 with it...Personally I am more aware of VMWare than VirtualPC

It's all a matter of finding what works best with your rig and running with that. :)


Return to “MechWarrior 2: Mercenaries”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests