Having a problem running Mechwarrior 2: 31st Century Combat

Post up issues you are encountering with MechWarrior 2 here, this includes Netmech.
Forum rules
Search before asking!
No Swearing!
Munwele
I.S. Baby

Having a problem running Mechwarrior 2: 31st Century Combat

Post by Munwele »

Hi, I am completely new to this stuff. A few weeks ago, I got a Windows 95 machine with the following specifications.
486 CyrixInstead 133Mhz
16MB RAM
HardDisk 1: Seagate 10GB
HardDisk 2: Micropolis 2.5GB
Graphics Card 1: ATI 3D Rage 8MB PCI
Graphics Card 2: Voodoo2 12MB PCI (Not running in SLI)

I have the normal Windows version of the game, not the DOS one, I believe... I must admit that I don't have the CD, I downloaded it from the net. I've read that this game is abandonware and downloading it for free isn't illegal now, I might be wrong, if so, I am sorry...

Anyways, something's not right. The game feels a little choppy, especially when you move the mouse, and I've noticed that whenever I walk over textures for example the ice in the NAV Computer training mission, it starts lagging like hell. I've decided to check on DxDiag and went ahead and disabled 3D Acceleration, but the game was as choppy as it was before.
I've tried lots of methods, including those from "RetroCompaqGuy" which tell you to install a particular driver for the Voodoo2 itself, then move Glide.dll and sst1init.dll from the Voodoo1 driver files to the game directory and finally run the game using a batch file. I found some help on another website too, forgot its exact name, nothing seems to work.

I tried running the game with just the ATI Rage, but I still got the same choppiness and lag.
To be extra sure, I tried running the game with an S3 Trio64/V2 and a Voodoo2 installed, same thing.

Would it be safe to assume that:
1) I have the wrong game version?
2) I set up the game incorrectly (I doubt)?
3) The game is using software rendering instead of hardware rendering?