Dosbox server change

Post up anything you would like to talk about here.
Post Reply
-Myg
House Steiner Private First Class
House Steiner Private First Class
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:50 pm

Dosbox server change

Post by -Myg » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:05 pm

We are testing a new version of the dosbox server @ mech2.org port: 49002

It should be working a day to couple days after this post.

User avatar
Sir MMPD Radick
Clan Nova Captain
Clan Nova Captain
Posts: 1621
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:07 am

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by Sir MMPD Radick » Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:43 pm

Firewall rules updated. Port 49002 is active and tested to be functional!

Thank you Myg!
James 3:5-10: My Reminder
And the tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity: so is the tongue among our members, that it defileth the whole body. Out of the same mouth proceedeth blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not so to be.

-Myg
House Steiner Private First Class
House Steiner Private First Class
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:50 pm

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by -Myg » Thu Mar 15, 2018 3:27 pm

Did some basic testing on it. Seems to be working like expected so far.

Will take a few days and tests before we can be 100% sure.

User avatar
Havokq3
House Steiner Corporal
House Steiner Corporal
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: 31st Century Kansas

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by Havokq3 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:40 pm

So would I connect by typing "mech2.org 49002" in the IPX server field, or would I type "mech2.org" and change the IPX port from 213 to 49002? I'm using D-Fend Reloaded as a DosBox front-end.
The year is 2015. For a Mail Officer, LIFE is WAR, and DEATH is the only true peace.

mattmets
I.S. Baby
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:25 am

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by mattmets » Fri Mar 16, 2018 10:26 pm

Hey apparently Yoshi and I get timeouts with windows 7 operating systems when we try to connect to the netmech server with both the old and new port numbers. It cannot be a networking device related cause since I was able to connect to the netmech server just fine on windows 10 and my windows 7 machine is in the same local network. Just wondering if you two or anyone else has had the same problem with windows 7

-Myg
House Steiner Private First Class
House Steiner Private First Class
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:50 pm

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by -Myg » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:15 am

Havokq3: Correct.

Mattmets: The reason we moved to a higher port was to counteract any ISP blocking of lower ports. I am not sure how to help you. I have had no problems as yet.

User avatar
Havokq3
House Steiner Corporal
House Steiner Corporal
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: 31st Century Kansas

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by Havokq3 » Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:35 pm

I'm still having problems connecting; is there any port-forwarding I need to do on my end?
The year is 2015. For a Mail Officer, LIFE is WAR, and DEATH is the only true peace.

-Myg
House Steiner Private First Class
House Steiner Private First Class
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:50 pm

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by -Myg » Sat Mar 17, 2018 1:50 pm

Just typing in: "IPXNET CONNECT mech2.org 49002" should do it. I suppose its possible you have a nasty NAT setup/router.

mattmets
I.S. Baby
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:25 am

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by mattmets » Sat Mar 17, 2018 10:41 pm

well hey it works like a charm on windows 10 so better than nothin

-Myg
House Steiner Private First Class
House Steiner Private First Class
Posts: 86
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:50 pm

Re: Dosbox server change

Post by -Myg » Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:17 pm

I found an issue causing some machines not to connect. I hope we have it fixed for the time being.

Post Reply